Thursday, 20 December 2012


A new post, at last, with a recent horse drawing
based on a sketch made whilst in America

Merry Christmas.









Tuesday, 25 September 2012

Open Studio 6th & 7th October 2012

My studio will open up to visitors as part of the Cheshire Open Studios project on 
Saturday 6th & Sunday 7th October from 10.00 a.m. - 5.00 p.m.

Visitors can inspect work in progress, drawings paintings original prints and limited edition T shirts bearing horse images, the latest bearing the horse image on the invitation.

Cards, books and signed archival prints also available as well as hand made artist's biscuits!

for more info and map visit:-
http://cheshireopenstudios.org.uk/julia-midgley/


Monday, 10 September 2012

Updates



My studio will open to the public during the weekend of 6th & 7th October 2012.
Documentary drawings/reportage projects will be on show alongside drawings of horses, personal work including original prints, etchings and aquatints.

I will publish more details nearer the time,
including pictures of the new T shirt.

This is part of the Cheshire Open Studios project  - http://cheshireopenstudios.org.uk/julia-midgley/

Monday, 3 September 2012

little wash drawing
submitted for competition
fingers crossed




Tuesday, 28 August 2012

back to studio

summer holiday snapshot drawing
of a girl
seen at a festival 
an impish figure




Thursday, 28 June 2012

Built exhibition - images

We enjoyed an excellent response to the Built exhibition at Monday's opening and the Symposium on Tuesday.
An impressive array of speakers; a warm informal atmosphere, and a large audience contributed to a thought provoking day all about drawing and architecture.


Here are some of my images from the show together with shots of Rick Mather, architect of Liverpool's Art & Design Academy in conversation.







Thursday, 7 June 2012

coming soon !

Built - an exhibition which showcases drawings by four artists who have recorded with drawings the construction of signature buildings in the UK opens 25th June, 
Threadneedle Space, Mall Galleries, London  - for more info go to  http://www.lfa2012.org/events/view/built-92

Here is an example



Monday, 14 May 2012

Monday, 30 April 2012

Tuesday, 17 April 2012

seen on merseyside


can be seen at this week's London Original Print Fair, stand 28, Royal Society of Painter Printmakers 
I will be at the stand Saturday afternoon 21st April





Wednesday, 11 April 2012

Come and see this etching and others at stand 28, Royal Society Painter Printmakers, London Original Print Fair, Royal Academy of Arts 19 - 22 April 2012






Monday, 2 April 2012

Monday, 26 March 2012

Monday, 19 March 2012

three ladies 
an old drawing just found in the files



plus a site I would recommend to anyone interested in reportage and drawing

Monday, 27 February 2012

Thursday, 23 February 2012

Hot Pursuit

In hot pursuit - could be a self portrait playing catch up throwing brickbats at admin!     



Monday, 20 February 2012

New link re forthcoming exhibition "Built" - four artists who have worked on construction sites

Friday, 17 February 2012

Parthians 
study for etching









Bird Riders 
wash drawings 2012



Bird Rider 5



Bird Rider 4